Writing With My Android

Smartphones are an ever present fact of life and I recently acquired one. Samsung Galaxy S II. I realize that it’s not as up to date as some others, but it works for me. Actually it works just great!

I’ve been using it to write my novel and short stories. Hooked a keyboard up to it and everything and will likely, now, replace my Palm for this type of writing.

On the left you will notice my simple setup.

Everything I write goes into a notebook and is then imported into a text file. I begin by starting a line on my computer in NotePad and then saving the text file (.txt) in Dropbox. Then I open this file in QuickOffice which came preinstalled on the phone. I like this program because you can zoom in on the text, which wraps according to the screen without having to search for text off screen, seemingly formatting the text to screen much like an eReader. Saving the work, therefore, always in Dropbox, will allow me to access from any computer in the house or any computer with internet access. As a text file, it can easily be opened in any word processor you may be using.  For Bluetooth keyboards someone suggest to me BlueKeyboard JP, although I have not tried it.

Creating this new (for me) setup has solved the problem of my sitting in front of a computer for long periods of time giving me headaches. Now that problem has been solved to a greater degree as time in front of the PC has been lessened.

Apparently you will need Android 4.0.4 (Icecream Sandwich) to hook up the USB keyboard as well as a MicroUSB to USB OTG Adaptor, which should be available at most computer stores: it must be OTG, remember that. A phone holder, similar to the one in the picture above, will also come in handy. Although I have not tried it, there should be no reason that this setup not to work on Android Tablets.

It may well be a writing solution that works for you as well.

About John Van Vliet

Author of the soon to be released "The H'Rhophyan Chronicles", a Fantasy Adventure Serial.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

