Get Yourself A Writing Accountability Partner

I have been away for a while working in the upper reaches of Northern Alberta. Twelve hour days for ten days at a time is not conducive to writing a novel or any other work. It is not an excuse either. It’s not impossible to do, only difficult.

It was for this reason I sought out someone who could help me with this aspect of my writing: finding someone to motivate me when there didn’t seem to be enough minutes in a day.

black-notebook-with-pencil-1176000-mEnter the Writing Accountability Partner. I discovered mine while working up North. A fellow worker who also turned out to be a writer. I asked Bradley if he would do this, no small task, for me. He agreed and I, in turn, reciprocated.

I have found him helpful when I somehow couldn’t (wouldn’t) push myself to write or found myself blocked.

We started with a daily/weekly word count, but it’s more than that. It’s about having someone who will inspire and motivate you to write and not judge you when you feel you’ve come up short.

In this way Bradley has been valuable in the development of my manuscripts, and I hope I am doing the same for him.

Now that I am no longer working up North, Bradley and I don’t spend as much time together talking about our writing, but the wonders of modern communication help keep our partnership alive: email, texting, phone calls. It really doesn’t matter where your Writing Accountability Partner lives so long as you can communicate.

If you don’t already have a Writing Accountability Partner, perhaps you should think about finding one. You won’t regret it.

I have begun to keep a daily public record of my writing totals. In a way it another way of being accountable: to you the blog reader. Some days are better than others and on Sunday I usually count a 0. Everyone needs at least one day off.

Feel free to drop by here and check my progress. Should you leave a message of encouragement that would be greatly appreciated.

About John Van Vliet

Author of the soon to be released "The H'Rhophyan Chronicles", a Fantasy Adventure Serial.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

