Technology Withdrawal?

We live in the second decade of the 21st Century with all the technological conveniences one could possibly think of. Computers, access to the internet, Twitter, Facebook and any number of social media to keep in touch with what is happening in the world and our own social circles. Email keep us in touch with loved ones and friends as well as helping in our business dealings.

We entertain ourselves wiprinted-circuit-board-1227226-mth games consoles like PS and XBox all connected to the internet or the, seemingly, unlimited selection of online games.
And don’t forget the SmartTVs capable of streaming videos from the internet or wirelessly from your computer.
Smart Phones are a given. Most people today have one and they are basically a mini computer connected to the internet via a data package or wifi.
Now imagine a world without all these conveniences. A large segment of our society, especially teens and YA, could not possibly be without this technology. At my age I don’t have to imagine. I grew up in the 70’s and 80’s when cable TV had maybe ten channels (where I lived, anyway) and your phone was plugged into the wall via a cord: sometimes a very long cord.
I’m going to find out how much I remember life without, and how much I’ve come to rely on these modern conveniences: or are they a curse?
Starting Saturday, the computers will stay for the weekend. No email, Twitter, Facebook and whatever the internet may have to offer and grab my attention. The Galaxy S2 will be turned off. If you need to get a hold of me call my landline (I will take the cell phone with me, but will only turn it on in case of an emergency). That also means giving up reading my Kindle or Kobo. Pixels will be replaced by paper. Should be a few books around the house.
I’m going to find out if I’m addicted to technology.
Perhaps some of you would care to join me.
On Monday I’ll let you know how it went. Until then I’ll continue to do what I always do, writing with pen and paper.

About John Van Vliet

Author of the soon to be released "The H'Rhophyan Chronicles", a Fantasy Adventure Serial.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

