Time to Change Blades?

Shaving is one of those chores most men must perform often, if not daily. Men, and some women, have sought to cut their hair as close to the surface as possible for thousands of years. And today it seems like a daily tribulation to be endured by most while for others, like myself, find it a pleasant ritual to be sought. But it was not always so…

 
I have used most every means know to me to rid myself of these facial whiskers in the past. I started with an electric razor because my father used one, and still does. Next I moved to the twin razor, triple and five blade razors with no satisfaction.

 
classic-safety-razor-shave-kitI seemed to have found the system that worked best for me while in the Balkans about 15 years ago. I had very little choice but to use a double edge razor at the time as my electric broke down and a DE was my only option. To my surprise it was the best shave I ever had. Upon my return to Canada I quickly reverted to my old ways and the DE razor fell by the wayside.

 
Almost a year ago I started using a DE razor once again. The trouble with the newer blades was I was plagued with small pimples and ingrown hairs to name two. The DE Razor solved that problem for me in a short time. I am no longer plagued by either former issues. I’m even using the same brand of blades I used while oversees (very cheap but the best ones for my face). I have also changed shaving cream, seeking something that would moisturize and not leave me with razor burn. I’ve opted not to use the commercial stuff most men are familiar with and replaced it with a homemade concoction that leaves the skin moist and soft.

 
Here is the recipe for any who would like to try:
2 parts Castile soap.
3 parts Extra Virgin Olive Oil.

 
I use 1 part Tea Tree Castile soap and 1 part Peppermint Castile soap. Tea tree to help disinfect in case of minor nicks (rarely happens), and Peppermint for that cool fresh feeling on the face. The olive oil works as a skin moisturizer and also a lubricant for the blade.

 
I pour a small dollop, about the size of a quarter, into my shaving bowl and whip up a lather with my shaving brush.

 
As I said earlier, shaving is no longer a chore thanks in part to the DE razor and my own shaving cream concoction.

 
If you want to check out some good shaving products just go here.

 
Should you try my recipe why not leave a comment to let me know what you think of it.

 
In the meantime, happy shaving.

About John Van Vliet

Author of the soon to be released "The H'Rhophyan Chronicles", a Fantasy Adventure Serial.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

