Midway Through NaNoWriMo.

nanowrimo-logo

Saturday marked the midway point of NaNoWriMo, and to my surprise I appear to be on target for 50,000. As of day 14 my total was 25,500. Unfortunately I was not at all well this weekend. Every time I set myself to writing, my mind went as blank as the paper in front of me.

 

Overall, the process has not been as difficult as first suspected. After the first few days writing 1700 or so words a day did not feel too burdensome. With a 4900 word day, being the best word count to date, it should make up for the poor start and the illness this past weekend (I’ve wondered why November and not a warmer month?). Maybe there will be other days like this?

When NaNoWriMo is finished for this year, based on what’s been accomplished thus far, it will a habit I will endeavor to continue. But not on weekends. Please not the weekends.

For those having problems, just keep writing. When I first began taking writing seriously it was a stretch to do 500 words a day. As of 9 AM this morning, not including this blog, my word count already exceeds 1000 words.

So write, write, write. The worst that can happen is you fall short of 50,000, or you actually make it. Fall short, you still have something. Make it, you made it. Either way you win!

About John Van Vliet

Author of the soon to be released "The H'Rhophyan Chronicles", a Fantasy Adventure Serial.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

