A Look At The F.P.R. Indus Fountain Pen

As a writer, who prefers to write with pen and paper, having a good writing instrument is paramount. The pen of choice, you guessed it, a fountain pen. The choice to return to these fine pens was because of my hand cramping. Using the ballpoint pens for any length of time always brought writer’s cramp in short order. Not so with fountain pens which one can use with little effort and a long, long, long, long, long time. I think you understand what I’m trying to say. Fountain pens, for me, have been a hand saver.

indus

Recently I purchased a piston fill F.P.R. Indus fountain pen from Fountain Pen Revolution. I never had one of this type before – only converter, refill or eye dropper – so I thought it would be a nice change. And it was.

Black was the chosen colour for black ink (I use several coloured inks) with a fine nib. Writing with this pen has been a pleasure. It writes very smooth and glides without effort across the page using Waterman Black ink. The ink reservoir appear to be large enough to handle the amount of writing I do without the need to be constantly refilling. The piston fill mechanism worked very well after I got a good handle on its use – like I said, first one of these owned.

There are a few things that I was not fond of.  First, the weight. It feels a little light (14 grams) compared with other pens in my collection , but after using for some time now it is hardly noticeable. The second is the cap. Although I like the fact it is a screw on cap, I feel uncomfortable posting it as it seems it might crack if I do. Writing with an un-posted pen is not an issue as it still fits in my hand well, but I don’t want to risk cracking the cap. Another thing, but this is a personal note, I should have bought the pen with an Extra Fine nib instead of the Fine nib. I’ll be sure to grab some when I order another pen, likely the maroon F.P.R. Indus for red ink editing. You can view the entire F.P.R collection here.

I am very happy with this pen. It writes well, but because of my cap issue, I will rate it 8/10.

About John Van Vliet

Author of the soon to be released "The H'Rhophyan Chronicles", a Fantasy Adventure Serial.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

