NaNoWriMo? Not This Year

Just about 10 days until November, and I have decide not to participate in NaNoWriMo this year. Last year I did not reach the target goal of 50,000 words, but I did come close. But missing my target is not the reason for non-participation. Traditionally, November is our busiest month and, because of this, NaNoWriMo put significant strain on certain (close) relationships last year–something I did not expect nor care to repeat.

This year, November has been spoken for. A vacation in the plans–so long as work does not interfere–for a long overdue break.  Of course, 12 hour plus work days before and after my break don’t make writing easier either. It’s a very bad time of the year for me as far as writing goes.

So, this year NaNoWriMo is a no go.

no NaNoWriMo

Will I still be writing throughout the month of November? Yes. Will I submit myself to the 1667 words a day average needed to attain the 50,000 words? Not on your life.

I will be encouraging all those crazy enough to participate–I jest–and wish everyone the best of luck this November.

I am not going to be at all concerned about words counts during the month, but I will be writing.

And when you really think about it, that is all that matters.

About John Van Vliet

Author of the soon to be released "The H'Rhophyan Chronicles", a Fantasy Adventure Serial.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

