Discovering My Old Typewriter

I was rummaging through the crawl space over the weekend sorting through boxes and other items when I came across an old typewriter. I don’t remember when I first got a hold of it, but it was the typewriter I used until my first computer in the mid-90s.

It’s a Royal Quiet DeLuxe, perhaps mid-50s model. It always worked well and I rather enjoyed the sound as I struck the keys. When I inspected the machine, it seemed to be in good condition except the ribbon has dried. Not unexpected considering its been tucked away in its case for about 20 years. Are ribbons still available for these old machines? Not that it matters. I will likely never use it again. Instead, once I’ve created a space on my desk, I will give it a place of honour in remembrance to the older generation of writers who used these wonderful instruments to punch out their manuscripts. I don’t know how they did it. I would make far to many typos to make it worth my while.

About John Van Vliet

Author of the soon to be released "The H'Rhophyan Chronicles", a Fantasy Adventure Serial.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

