Weekend Writing Warriors – Restoration #34

Welcome to another snippet.

The past few weeks have been a challenge for me technically and have not been able to submit any post. The place where I stayed after the fires in Fort McMurray had very unreliable WiFi. I’ve posted this snippet early in hopes that it will have a chance to read it. This will be my third attempt to get it up and it seems to have worked.

Enjoy

Over the next little while I will bring you the remainder
of the short story, 8 – 10 sentences at a time.

This link will take you to the Weekend Writing Warriors
home page where you can check out snippets from other writers.

~~~oOo~~~

wewriwa-restoration-leather

Clash of steel.

~~~oOo~~~

“Then I’ll make the choice for you.”

Faldron ran toward Demeas. He did not move, nor did he regard the swords, but only looked at Faldron’s eyes. Perceiving the intent of the striking swords, Demeas also noticed Faldron’s eyes revealed another objective. With quick hands, he grabbed his swords and blocked Faldron’s steel. The sound of metal clashing and the screaming of the blades as they slid across each other sent nearby birds to noisy flight.

Faldron’s sword was Hivarhan, like all H’Rhophyan swords, forged by the armourers of Hivarha in Southern Sendeshia. It was a lighter sword compared with a standard sword of similar size. Demeas’ sword, while fashioned to resemble an H’Rhophyan blade, was constructed of Elven steel which made it much lighter and stronger than most swords, even H’Rhophyan ones.

“You’re as fast as ever,” grinned Faldron waving a sword at Demeas.

~~~oOo~~~

Join me next week for another snippet.

About John Van Vliet

Author of the soon to be released "The H'Rhophyan Chronicles", a Fantasy Adventure Serial.
This entry was posted in Weekend Writing Warriors and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Weekend Writing Warriors – Restoration #34

  1. Ed Hoornaert says:

    I love it when the swrods in sword and sorcery tales have personalities.

    I didn’t realize you were in Fort MacMurray. My sympathies, John! Even my son in Vancouver has been affected, with layoffs at his company due to the fire giving him loads of extra work.

    • I don’t actuallylive in Ft Mac, but I have friends here who have been devasted by the fires. My company has assigned me here from Calgary in an attempt to secure certain areas of the city. Very difficult job. Particular having to assist those who have lost everything. Heart breaking.

  2. Kim Magennis says:

    The sound of metal clashing and the screaming of the blades as they slid across each other sent nearby birds to noisy flight.

    What a very powerful image!

    My sympathies too, John. I have no words for the crises you and your people are dealing with.

  3. Enjoyed the excerpt, very well done. Sending good thoughts about recovery from the terrible fires!

    • Thanks. For the most part, people here are a strong group. Recovery will take years, but they will make this city strong again. I see it most of the people I’ve met, even among those who have nothing to return to. They will rebuild their homes and their city into something greater than it was. They’re too stubborn to give up. Have to love that.

  4. Somehow you manage to make every short snippet a very visual and emotional one. Great job, John! Sure am curious how this is going to wind up.

    That fire was a terrible, terrible thing. I admire the tenacity of those who want to rebuild, they have a long road ahead. Wishing all of them the best.

    Marcia

  5. Great snippet! Lots of tension and action, and I liked the description of the blade.

    I had no idea you knew people in Fort Mac. I’m in Edmonton and the hotel I work in offered rooms to them. Everyone was polite and so grateful for the smallest things, but all I could think was that it’s not enough. Even with all the donations we gave and continue to give, it’s devastating. Thoughts are definitely with you and all the people who belong there.

  6. I love the imagery and action in this piece. Great snippet!

Leave a Reply

